Background Ad


BMX Canada


  • Speedline Canada | 2016, Bike Shop Team


    On the team sheets, another title being defended for the Bike Shop Category was Speedline~Canada, formerly known as Canadian Bike Supply (aka CBS). These folks have owned this title for the past six years, and they don’t seem to be running out of steam anytime soon. Congrats to Ron at Speedline~Canada, and yet another season of pure Canadian domination.

  • Factory YESS | 2016, Factory Team


    Factory YESS

  • Allison Grecht | 2016, Girl Cruiser


    Alison Grecht would also take the top slot for Womens Cruiser, in what will be her last season on 24. Alison is retiring the cruiser class, and concentrating on her upcoming rookie season as a Jr Elite/Women Pro rider. Way to end off the season with a back to back Cruiser title, Alison!

  • Greg McGill | 2016, Cruiser


    Onyx Racing’s Greg McGill had all but secured his title going into the Grands weekend. But wanting to give it fighting chance, 36-40 cruiser class rider Cid Martinez (from Victoria) had the chance to take over the title lead from McGill. Martinez, who took the top spot on Saturday’s race found himself on the back tire of Ballistic BMX’s Jay Duran in Sunday’s Grands main. Knowing second place was not going to cut it, Cid ‘the Kid’ set himself up for a second corner pass on Duran. After a bit of elbow bumpin’ as Martinez tried to go for the inside scoop, he couldn’t quite stick the corner as Duran kept his momentum on the top side leaning into the 1str8 rider, leaving Cid in his tracks. That left Greg McGill to secure the win in his own main, and defend yet another National No.1 title.

  • Violet Cejalvo | 2016, Girl


    Undoubtedly the title chase that was most hotly contested - according to announcer Chris Johnson, was for the National No.1 Girl title. History repeated itself, in more ways than one - as it came down to the final race for the ladies. Alison Grecht, Violet Cejalvo of Yess BMX, and Tiegen Pascual of Supercross Canada, were all within rider points of each other going into the Sundays mains. 13 girls was the race to watch, as Tiegen has been looking strong all weekend, and as their main gate dropped, she was on point as she led the race going into the second corner. Next, ‘Ultra’ Violet knew it was ‘win or die’ and railed the sweeper to gain momentum setting up her outside second corner, knowing the inside did not work the day before. Going for gold, she saw the door opening coming out of the corner and took advantage, carving low and taking the pass as they entered the third straight. Out of the final corner Pascual had one last chance to take the race on the inside but couldn’t get position without washing out or blowing up, giving Violet the tentative title lead. Alison’s chance at securing her needed win and doubling up on National Titles slipped away from her going into the first corner. Avoiding Florida’s Dena Dawson of Yess BMX, getting unclipped going into the first corner, Grecht fought hard to catch up to Elite Vendetta’s Taylour Howard, but couldn’t quite reel her in. Grecht would have to settle for the second, which then crowned Factory Yess' Violet Cejalvo her third National Title in as many years!

  • Zach Frier | 2016, Amateur


    Ballistic BMX’s Zach Frier has been riding amazing all season long. Regardless of a delayed start to this season due to injury recovery, Frier has been flawless this year , getting stronger and faster. Not only the guy to beat in Canada, but his results in the US have been consistent as well. His unbeaten streak all weekend long proved that his hard work and training is what it takes to be the best of the best. When you have names like Supercross’ Gavin Bowers, and J&R’s Dahvin Childs in your class, you better make sure you’ve come prepared. And Zach did, defending his title with style.

  • Cayleigh Van Staalduinen | 2016, Women Pro


    2016 marked the return of the Women Pro racers in Canada. The mid-season return of the professional ladies to the Pro stage in the National Series was a welcome sight. Factory Daylight Cycle’s Cayleigh VanStaalduinen and Drew Mechielsen of the Yess squad have definitely gone back and forth with their elbow to elbow racing over the last few Nationals, and while Drew was able to pull out ahead in low points on Saturday, Cayleigh rode consistently in Sunday’s Grands mains and was able to secure the Women’s Pro Title in her rookie year! Her hard work and perseverance has really really stepped up her game this season, and she’s now got the hardware to prove it.

  • Mani Kawaguchi | 2016, Pro


    Current Champ Mani Kawaguchi (Bombshell~Avent) had to battle with six Canadian, and one US Pro in the weekend’s Grands mains. Although it was Alex Tougas from Yess that pocketed the holeshot awards, and subsequently the top spot on the podium for both days, it was Mani’s ability to find his way through to podium finishes to keep his points on the low side. Sunday’s 2nd main move in the second corner going from fourth to second, secured his low points for the weekend, and thus, defending his title.