Background Ad


Sam Willoughby

Filed under National Champions on December 12, 2013 | Comment(s)

WHEW! Whatta year for Willoughby! The numbers speak for themselves:

  • 13 straight Wins in AA-pro.
  • 20 wins total for the year. 
  • Nothing but podium finishes throughout the season. 
  • Only missed making 4 AA-pro mains out of the whole year. 

It's safe to say that Sam Willoughby completely dominated the sport in 2013. After winning the ROC on Friday, he'd wrapped the title up - no matter what his final finish was on Saturday night's Pro Championship Finals.
With this title, Sam joined a few other BMX legends in the history books. Now, with 2-consecutive No.1 plates, his name is added alongside those of Brian Patterson, Gary Ellis, Pete Loncarevich and Christophe Leveque. And with 3 titles total, he joins former Redline pro Bubba Harris in that club. 

** Note that if Sam were to repeat this feat in 2014, he would REALLY make a name for himself, as only Ellis and Loncarevich have 4 No.1 pro Cups - and only Bubba Harris has accomplished it 3 consecutive years back-to-back.  

Image Gallery

  • Screen_shot_2013-12-12_at_11
  • Screen_shot_2013-12-12_at_11
  • Screen_shot_2013-12-12_at_11
  • Screen_shot_2013-12-12_at_11